Skip to main content


Teacher, Principal, & Professional Development

Grant Applications are Currently Closed.

Applications for the for the 2025-2026 School Year Will Be Open on December 1, 2024!


Did you know that every teacher and principal in SBCSC is eligible to apply for a grant? The South Bend Education Foundation holds endowment funds invested with The Community Foundation of St. Joseph County (CFSJC). The CFSJC Endowments provide over $25,000 in teacher and principal grants. Funds held in an Indiana Trust Endowment provide for two $2,500 professional development grants.

Teacher Grants are for certified professionals in SBCSC, including Empowerment Zone Schools. Your idea must enhance student learning in your classroom or school that and must align directly to Indiana K-12 Academic Standards. Grants range between $500.00 - $1,500.00

Principal Grants are for building administrators in SBCSC, including Empowerment Zone Schools. Your idea must enhance student learning in your building and align directly to Indiana K-12 Academic Standards. There are five $1,000.00 grants issued. 

Professional Development Grants are for full-time certified professionals in SBCSC, including the Empowerment Zone Schools. This may include teachers, social workers, librarians, psychologists, administrators, and/or school nurses. Any Conference or workshop sponsored by a state, regional, or national professional association or institution related to your role in the corporation is eligible. Professional Development Grants are for up to $2,500 each. 

Before you apply:

  • Do you know what kind of grant you are seeking?
  • Does the grant meet one of the  grant categories?
  • Does your project align with state standards or school improvement goal?
  • Does your principal or supervisor approve of the project?
  • Does the project require installation from the maintenance team?
  • Does it involve technology?
  • Do you have an idea of where to obtain items and approximate budget?
  • Do you know how you are going to measure impact?
  • Grant applications must be complete with all questions answered, and principal/supervisor approval given, to be considered.
  • Applicants must use the provided budget spreadsheet (located within the application or below).


Grant Budget Template

Well-Written Grant Examples

PowerPoint from Back-to-School U with what the Grant Committee looks for in an application

We would like to congratulate the following 2024 Grant Recipients: 

Alison Moore - Madison STEAM Academy Ann & Fred Dean Science Teacher Grant

Beckie Hernandez Adams High School Maritza Robles Bilingual Grant and Roland Kelly Language Arts Grant

Courtney King Darden Elementary School - David Hendrix Teacher Grant

Dawn Forsythe - LaSalle Academy - David Hendrix Teacher Grant

Debra Koscher - McKinley Elementary School - James Wilson Teacher Grant

Emily Beier - Nuner Fine Arts Academy- Mark Tulchinsky Teacher Grant

Iryna Gillis - Marquette Montessori Academy - Marjorie Wilson Teacher Grant

Jeff Kindelan - Adams High School - Don & Peggy Claeys Teacher Grant

Dr. John Van Dyke - Jackson Middle School - Kurt Simon Teacher Grant

Marci Katzenberger - Riley High School - Karen Schirmer and James D. Metz Fine Arts Teacher Grants

Matisse Giddings - Swanson Traditional School - Nancy Tarnow Bartels Fine Arts Teacher Grant

Megan Connors - Swanson Traditional School - Bauer Family Early Childhood Development Grant

Pam Wright - Darden Elementary School - M. Mendel Piser Teacher Grant

Rolanda Thompson - Madison STEAM Academy - Casper Warner Teacher Grant

Shane Spiess - Adams High School - Patricia Tollens Fine Arts Teacher Grant

Stacie Alvarado - Harrison Elementary School - James Wilson Teacher Grant

Tony Chelminiak - Adams High School - David Hendrix Teacher Grant and Wenger & Porter Coaches Grant

Amy Troyer, PrincipalSwanson Traditional School - Principal Grant

Gail McDaniel, Principal - Lasalle Academy - Principal Grant

Edorarda Perez - Adams High School - Professional Development Grant

Jamie Yoder - Dickinson Fine Arts Academy - Professional Development Grant

Sally Eggleston - Darden Elementary School - Professional Development Grant